Hi, I'm Rosie. I live in London.

I write and research for a living. If you’re interested in working with me, take a look at my other website. (Please note that I work full time and have a few projects on at the moment, so my freelance availability is very limited. I can sometimes take on short term projects or anything I find especially interesting.)

By night I write eclectic essays on philosophy, books, living, creativity and more. Almost all the posts you see on this site start off as notes written to myself. A small percentage seem like they might be interesting to other people, so I share edited versions. For those who get confused, this blog is purely my hobby.

I am currently a top writer on Medium for the topics: mental health, creativity, life lessons, books, writing, art, and self improvement.

I contribute regularly to the Creative Cafe, The Startup, The Post Grad Survival Guide, and The Ascent. I used to write for other publications but currently focus on Medium as my main platform. The best way to get access to everything, with no paywall, is by signing up for my weekly newsletter.

I've blogged since I was 13 and been involved in some fun stuff since then including: giving a TEDx talk, shooting a book cover, having a clothing brand that will not be named steal one of my posts and put it on a t-shirt, having content featured by brands like Kanken and Doc Marten, working with PRs from brands like H&M, and connecting with lots of wonderful people.

People sometimes ask if there's a way to donate directly to this site. The answer is no, I don't accept donations on here. But if you've really enjoyed something I've written and would like to say thanks, you're welcome to buy me a second-hand book on Amazon and I'll be very grateful. The Medium paywall helps cover the cost of sending postcards to subscribers and other costs.

***

Here’s 9 disjointed things about me:

  1. I read a lot (i.e. 10-16 books per month, with my record being 100 back when I was at school.) Each month I publish a round-up of the books I’ve read.

  2. I have a cat called Patti (after Patti Smith) and she’s a demonic little fluffball. (April 2019: sadly Patti no longer lives with me. Sad face.)

  3. I like: black coffee regardless of quality, EB Garamond (my favorite font), Lamy pens, exploring a city with my camera, notebook and no plans, reading a book in one sitting, Doc Martens, the sound of the harmonica, plants, getting tattoos, coconut milk, train journeys, linen, cashews, hemp hand cream, canals and Paris.

  4. I dislike: spicy food, crowded places, loud music, watching movies or TV, beer, unwanted notifications, social media, regret as a concept, too much sun, buying clothes, uncomfortable shoes, brushing my hair, elevators, bananas, running, soya milk, flossing, slugs and long flights.

  5. My Myers Briggs type is INTJ and yes, I know it’s unscientific.

  6. My favourite places in the world are: Regents Canal and the National Gallery  in London (and Kew Gardens and Camden), the side streets of Venice, Christiana in Copenhagen, all of Paris, the desert outside Tel Aviv, and a mediocre park in my hometown.

  7. I'm a minimalist. Sometimes I’m vegan. My lifestyle is always in flux so please don’t assume what you read in a blog post from a year ago is still relevant.

  8. Music-wise, I mostly listen to Bright Eyes and Conor Oberst’s other work. Sometimes I also listen to Flatsound, Father John Misty, Mary Gauthier, Cigarettes After Sex, and Frank Turner.

  9. Film-wise, I mostly rewatch the same few on an endless loop: Harold & Maude (my favorite), Yellow Submarine, Pulp Fiction, and Notting Hill for when I need something mind-numbingly comforting. I watch about one TV show a year, with The Good Place being 2018’s favorite.